Reviews

What people are saying about Duncan House




FLOORS CASTLE VISIT - Rating 4/5

I stayed at Duncan House with family for an overnight to visit Floors Castle and then Manderston. Lovely comfortable room and delicious breakfast. Made to feel valued and welcome.

Reviewer:Ros Davison | Mon 21st Aug 2017


b&b - Rating 5/5

Fantastic welcome lovely location and property and very comfortable clean and well equipped.will definitely stay again when we are in the area.Many thanks for your hospitality.the three bikers

Reviewer:Nicholas Bryan | Tue 18th Jul 2017


Excellent central location - Rating 4/5

Excellent central location, delicious freshly prepared breakfast and friendly host and staff. Rooms just in need of a little TLC but definitely worth a visit.

Reviewer:Gillian Beard | Sat 15th Jul 2017


Comfortable, luxurious and affordable stay by the river - Rating 5/5

Lovely position next to river with access to walks by river towards Floors castle yet still in the centre of Kelso and all the great amenities.Great room- ensuite with large shower, great view west to castle and river through original style large window- in a large room. Relaxed and fresh colour co- ordinated interiors throughout with nice fishing rods and paintings adding to original fireplaces and good quality antique furniture.Owners and staff are very friendly, welcoming, knowledgable of the area, and I am looking forward to returning as I feel Ive found a gem in Duncan house. Can\'t praise enough!Looking forward to seeing the new house with rooms when its finished- great contrast with modern slick design- large windows, burnt larch loft etc. with continued quality and style and river views☺☺☺☺☺

Reviewer:Susan Kinnear | Fri 14th Jul 2017


Comfortable stay close to center of Kelso - Rating 5/5

A very welcoming beb and breakfast close to the center of Kelso. All the staff were most helpful with suggestions of The Cobbles Freehouse to eat in the evening, also very good. Bedrooms perfectly adequate but Barry in size. Worth paying a little more to get la larger room with views of The Tweed and Floors Castle. Breakfast freshly cooked, also of a high standard. Thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay while cycling From Newcastle to Edinburgh.

Reviewer:Martin Ruck | Sun 9th Jul 2017


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely historic building with lots of character and excellent views over the river.

Response

As I am stepping back a bit in my dotage it is good to hear that the staff are keeping up the grade.I try to keep on their backs but most of my effort is rebuilding the next door property.Thank youJeff

Reviewer:PAUL VMCGOOGAN | Thu 6th Jul 2017


The perfect little place to stay - Rating 5/5

What more could you ask for from a little b& b. So relaxed and personal service, after a 7 hour journey this was just what was needed to be welcomed by. The room was a shock, did not expect it to be so big and well equipped for the money. The bed was opulent and oh so comfortable. The view out of the window was fantastic and all was clean and tidy. Breakfast was wonderful and all cooked to order, what ever I wanted. I checked out refreshed, full up and very pleased with my stay.

Reviewer:Jamie Lack | Wed 28th Jun 2017


Home from home- Rating 5/5

Very welcoming, homely, cosy, just fantastic.Beautifully decorated and great lication and view. Wonderful breakfast and staff too. Thank you. Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Mirjam Pastoor | Tue 13th Jun 2017


Home from home - Rating 5/5

We experienced the stay as really welcoming,homely,cosy,friendly and in one word fantastic. Great view too and amazing decorated house. If we come back to Kelso we certainly come to yours!Thank you,David and Mirjam

Response

Thank you for your review - as a team we work very hard for our guests and appreciate your encouragement

Reviewer:Mirjam Pastoor | Sat 3rd Jun 2017


Lovely Old Georgian House - Rating 4/5

A beautiful old house, made very comfortable. Bit strange as no one to let us in and despite telephone call to owner no reply. Standing in the rain for 30 minutes thinking we would have to go elsewhere was unsettling. Luckily another couple came out of the door!The room was very small and the bathroom very tired. Only a small window to high for me to see out of. Very different expectations from those on website when booking.Breakfast was nice and the ladies cooking breakfast were absolute treasures. Our dog was made really welcome.i would stay again but request a room away from the cockerels that woke us at 4.30 am.!

Response

Apologies for the delay in getting in to the house all of our guests get a reminder email telling them how to gain access if we are out, in addition we send an SMS on the day reinforcing this. I am very sorry but we are not a hotel and just cannot be on duty 24/7. Our own website makes it very clear that we live nearby, not on the premises.We try to be honest about all of our rooms. Due to the nature of the house no two rooms are the same and they are priced according to size, facilities and views.The room that you occupied (Ettrick) is the smallest of our rooms and without any worthwhile views, as a consequence it is the cheapest of our rooms.Your comments about the en-suite have been noted. We renovated the house 15 years ago and have already started updating en-suites to current standards.Jeff

Reviewer:Joanne Patmore | Sun 21st May 2017


11-12th may - Rating 3/5

Large sitting room and huge dining room but a rather small bedroom. Slightly off-putting to have to let ourselves in and was never introduced to our hosts until after breakfast. Jeff was obviously very busy with building work next door but a good service from the breakfast cook/waitress. Still good value but our room had no outlook except onto a wall and we were woken by the cockerels next door at 0430hrs:double glazing in the bedroom and extractor fan in bathroom would be a much-needed improvement

Response

Comments on the double glazing are noted. I beg to differ about the fan - this is built in to the shower and is part of the light fitting. We have gone to great expense to use fans that are quiet and unobtrusive.I am very sorry about the neighbours cockerels but they are beyond my control.

Reviewer:Alastair Rigg | Sat 13th May 2017


outstanding - Rating 5/5

room was very very nice, breakfast was amazing. I will be back. Thank you

Reviewer:Jim Slater | Fri 28th Apr 2017


Duncan house - Rating 4/5

Great accomadation owners very nice people and would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Lee Avery | Thu 27th Apr 2017


Duncan house - Rating 3/5

Friendly B& B personal touch from owners. Comfy bed and facilities, lovely breakfast. Only 2 mins walk into town. Great price would stay again.

Reviewer:Carole Snagg | Fri 7th Apr 2017


Three night stay - Rating 5/5

Another memorable visit,warmest welcome, comfortable room, real fires, excellent breakfast, river views - perfection.

Reviewer:Peter von | Fri 17th Mar 2017


Great Weekend - Rating 5/5

A most friendly and laid back establishment, we were kindly offered a drink when we arrived,and things just got better. The dog-friendly room was well appointed and very comfortable, the furnishing was impressive, and the breakfast was one of the best we\'ve had, served by very friendly and competent staff. Looking forward to the next race meeting!

Reviewer:Mr. George Bryden | Fri 20th Jan 2017


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at Duncan house on previous occasions and have always been amazed at the incredible hospitality afforded to me and my husband and this time was no different! Jeff was very caring since I was not too well at the time of my visit and went as far as offering me a \'hot toddy\' to ease my cough. I haven\'t come across any hosts who are as caring and thoughtful! Our stay was really good, the room very cosy and warm and breakfastvery varied and good! I would recommend Duncan house to anyone situated within walking distance of the centre of Kelso. All in all a brilliant stay with friendly hosts and staff!

Reviewer:Jackie Selby | Thu 29th Dec 2016


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

I have stayed at Duncan house on previous occasions and have always been amazed at the incredible hospitality afforded to me and my husband and this time was no different! Jeff was very caring since I was not too well at the time of my visit and went as far as offering me a \'hot toddy\' to ease my cough. I haven\'t come across any hosts who are as caring and thoughtful! Our stay was really good, the room very cosy and warm and breakfastvery varied and good! I would recommend Duncan house to anyone situated within walking distance of the centre of Kelso. All in all a brilliant stay with friendly hosts and staff!

Reviewer:Jackie Selby | Wed 28th Dec 2016


Comfortable and relaxed - Rating 5/5

Duncan house is a lovely warm quiet and comfortable house. We went the week before Christmas and the house was beaurifully decorated with a Christmas tree in the dining room where we had breakfast. The room on the top floor had super views across the river Twweed and Floors Castle and the en-suite was newly refurbished. Our hosts were lovely. We couldnt recommend it enough. We hope to return.

Reviewer:Gillian Sim | Mon 19th Dec 2016


Duncan House Kelso - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay would recommend

Reviewer:Evelyn Hardie | Mon 12th Dec 2016


Great B and B - Rating 5/5

Lovely place great location and we were made very welcome there.

Reviewer:Brian O\\\'Neill | Tue 6th Dec 2016


Relaxed and easy - Rating 4/5

Duncan house was just what I needed as a base to visit a sick friend;easy, warm, friendly and relaxed. The walk by the river is beautiful and if Ii returnto the area I will come back to Duncan House.

Reviewer:william wallace | Fri 2nd Dec 2016


Duncan House - Rating 5/5

Stayed overnight on Thursday the 24th NovemberMet by friendly owner and her dog, given key to room and also front door keyRoom and bed very comfortable and cleanBreakfast staff really nice and food enjoyableWill definitely return to stay again

Reviewer:Carole Gray | Sun 27th Nov 2016


Venue for 3 night stay in the borders - Rating 5/5

Duncan House was good value and provided excellent facilities,service and breakfast.The owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We look forward to staying there again

Response

Thank you for booking to stay with us next yearJeff & Kate

Reviewer:Andrew Roper | Sun 13th Nov 2016


Great atmosphere, friendly host and guests - Rating 4/5

Wonderful place on the river Tweed, fine views and in the city centre. Well decorated rooms and an attractive livingroom available to all guests.

Reviewer:M Verburgh | Tue 25th Oct 2016


Home from Home - Rating 4/5

In an ideal location, close to the town centre, Floors Castle, The Border Union Show Ground and the Abbey.Comfortable and easy going, just treat the house as your own, staff only on site in the mornings, but owner lives next door and can be contacted by phone or text.Breakfast was delicious and the dining room was amazing!Nice to have your own front door key and come and go as you please.

Reviewer:Norah Barnes | Tue 18th Oct 2016


THE PERFECT BASE - Rating 5/5

IDEALLY SITUATED FOR TOURING OR FISHING IN THE BORDERS AND AT NIGHT EASY ACCESS TO ALL THE KELSO RESRAURANTS....GREAT BREAKFASTS AND FRIENDLY STAFF..AS GOOD AS IT GETS THANKS.

Reviewer:Mr. PETER ROBINSON | Mon 17th Oct 2016


Lovely bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay, friendly and welcoming.Breakfast is excellent

Reviewer:Peter Greenwood | Sun 16th Oct 2016


Kelso - Rating 5/5

Warm and friendly greeting, immaculate and comfortable room, beautiful breakfast.

Reviewer:Mark Walters | Tue 11th Oct 2016


Birthday celebrations - Rating 5/5

Great stay yet again. Highly recommend it. Stayed in the trivot room with friends in the tweed room.

Reviewer:Ian Austin | Mon 10th Oct 2016


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff and nice location.

Reviewer:Anthony English | Sat 8th Oct 2016


Duncan House & Kelso Races - Rating 5/5

This was our second stay as a group for this particular weekend & once again we were not disappointed by the charm of Duncan House. We were made most welcome whilst being given the freedom of this beautiful guest house

Reviewer:Tom Sage | Tue 4th Oct 2016


lovely stay - Rating 5/5

lovely staff, beautiful breakfast. Loved the privacy of no owner on site and the views rom the window and river walk

Reviewer:Theresa M R Brimm | Sun 2nd Oct 2016


3rd visit and as lovely as the previous 2! - Rating 5/5

We love staying at Duncan House. Since our first visit, we\'ve always had the Whiteadder room. Top floor, lots of character and amazing views of Floors Castle in the distance.The breakfast served was delicious and you didn\'t go away hungry.Jeff is an extremely warm and welcoming host and we look forward to our next stay at Duncan House.

Reviewer:Mrs. Melanie King | Sun 2nd Oct 2016


Honeymoon idyll - Rating 5/5

I had a dream of staying in a four poster bed in a stately home, Duncan house made that dream a reality. The wonderful elegant room with breathtaking views made that dream a reality. Thank you so much it was just wonderful.

Response

Well the upgrade to the four poster was part our contribution to your honeymoon - thank you for the cake!Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Jennifer Franklin | Sat 1st Oct 2016


Highly recommend Duncan House. - Rating 5/5

I visit Kelso twice a year and always stay at Duncan House. The accomadation is excellent, clean, comfortable and the breakfast is amazing. Tremendous value.

Reviewer:Jim Slater | Sat 24th Sep 2016


A SUPERB B & B - Rating 5/5

This really is \"home from home\". The bedrooms are comfortable and nicely furnished. The dining room for breakfast has a beautiful large dining table and all the breakfasts are individually cooked to order with selections to suit every taste and appetite! Whether you are fishing for salmon on the river Tweed, playing golf, hiking, cycling or attending a wedding, this is the place to stay. 2 minutes walk from the town centre square, where a good range of pubs and restaurants can be found for dinner. Jeff Slater and his staff give a first class service.

Reviewer:Angus Ross | Sat 24th Sep 2016


Stunning views - Rating 4/5

Lovely old building with stunning views of the river & hills. Ideally located for fishing, walking etc. Close to town, so ok easy to go out for something to eat or to the pub, which you need to as there isn\'t any facilities in the house. Tea/Coffee in room although there was no milk left in the fridge on the landing. Would have been quiet except for some noisy guests who, late at night, couldn\'t open the door for ages and then slammed it shut. Breakfast selection was very limitedwith hardly any options but ok if you wanted cereal or cooked and orange juice. Good WiFI but TV in room was tiny! Free on-site car park.

Reviewer:Gary Smith | Fri 23rd Sep 2016


History B & B near river Tweed und Floors Castle - Rating 5/5

A history building with view to the river Tweed and Floors Castle. Very good fresh cooked breakfast. Jeff and his staff are very friendly and helpful. Perfect tip for dinner. Thanks

Reviewer:Heike Mrosek | Thu 22nd Sep 2016


A little bit different - Rating 5/5

A lovely place to stay with some extra little touches. Would I stay again? .....yes

Reviewer:Mrs. kate hinchliffe | Mon 12th Sep 2016


Short stay - Rating 4/5

Friendly and comfortable, and excellent breakfast. Convenient and picturesque location, will happily stay again.

Reviewer:Phil Shearstone | Mon 5th Sep 2016


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

Had an extremely comfortable nights stay and fantastic breakfast in the morning, i come to Kelso once a year and will always book Duncan House as in my opinion it is the best value for money accomodation in Kelso and right on the river which makes it even better

Reviewer:Danny Cheeseman | Fri 2nd Sep 2016


Superb Breakfast - Rating 5/5

Worthwhile staying for the superb breakfast! Excellent,quality ingredients, beautifully served.Best we have ever had.Close to all amenities.\"Ettrick\"room very small,(but priced accordingly and quiet). Other rooms looked spacious and well appointed.

Reviewer:Alan Webster | Wed 31st Aug 2016


Excellent accomodation - Rating 5/5

Very comfy \'home from home\' accomodation, the staff were very friendly & the bed was comfy, the double shower was great and breakfast was excellent

Reviewer:Karen Jones | Tue 30th Aug 2016


Above expectations - Rating 5/5

We\'re just back from a wonderful stay at Duncan House. As we usually stay in hotels we were concerned that a B and B might not be to our taste. How wrong could we be! Everything about it is 5 star - from the superb antique furnishings to the excellent breakfast. We can\'t recommend it highly enough and would definitely return

Reviewer:Elizabeth Churnside | Tue 30th Aug 2016


Holiday - Rating 5/5

The owner is really hospitable. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful.The room is comfortable and clean.

Reviewer:Gabriele Beltrandi | Mon 29th Aug 2016


History, good food, comfortable bed - Rating 5/5

This B and B is lovely. It\'s in a cluster of historical buildings on a terrace overlooking the Tweed. I stayed for two days in Roxburgh Cottage that is round the corner from Duncan House but I was able to use the common facilities there if I\'d wanted. Roxburgh Cottage accommodation does not have river views - if that\'s what you\'re looking for you need to book a room in Duncan House itself. Breakfast was served at Duncan House too - a beautifully furnished room with fine views of the river. Delicious food cooked to order. Roxburgh Cottage accommodation is about to refurbished but is spacious, clean and furnished to the same standard as the main house. I wish every B and B had a bed and a bathroom like that! It\'s easy walking distance to the town centre with many cafes and little shops. Jeff was a kind, thoughtful host and Susie the black lab is much mentioned in reviews for good reason! The relaxed country home feel of Duncan House is charming - will be recommending it for sure.

Reviewer:Mrs. Teresa Maley | Sat 27th Aug 2016


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Duncan House for one night, lovely location, views amazing, peaceful and tranquil.The house was filled with lovely old furniture, bedroom had a four poster bed! Nice and clean and breakfast was excellent freshly cooked to order, with plentry of choice.

Reviewer:Richard Burton | Fri 26th Aug 2016


superb - Rating 5/5

This is one of those once in a few years kind of places. Quirky, a gracious home, the way you might expect a country home should be. Really comfortable, fabulous views, and I really mean \'fabulous\'. What else? All the details are there from some nice artwork on the walls to small stuff like bowls of sweets around the place. Breakfast was superb (smoked salmon witn scrambled eggs, kippers, porridge, full English etc). We loved it, really sorry to leave.Its worth mentioning thatthe owner doesn\'t live in the building. Initial entry is by keypad code sent to your mobile so get the number right when you book

Reviewer:Karl Grimwade | Thu 25th Aug 2016


Would definitely recommend- Rating 5/5

Excellent B& B. Accommodation perfect with great views towards the River Tweed.Breakfast wonderful & the staff were most friendly & helpful.Although there is an on-site car park, it is small & untarmaced! but all in all this was an excellent choice.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Phillips | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


Amazing - Rating 5/5

This place really has the wow factor and the Breakfast!!!! Easily the best...I can see why this place is award winning - simply put stay here! You will not regret it.The rooms - amazingThe Staff - amazingPrice - AmazingAbsolutely Everything - Amazing!

Reviewer:Christian Tucker | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


Overnight stay to cover wedding event - Rating 4/5

Very intimate stay with a most charming couple now venturing on expansion plan within their premises and adjoining premises.

Reviewer:Colin McNeil | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


Duncan House/Roxburgh House. - Rating 4/5

Myself and my brother had the occasion to visit Kelso for our cousin\'s wedding and luckily booked Duncan House for an overnight stay, we actually stayed in the cottage next door named Roxburgh House and were delighted with the facilities and friendly service we experienced throughout our stay, our room was clean and warm and the breakfast was first class, overall well worth a visit and right next to the town centre and all amenities and also a splendid view up the river to Floors Castle right behind the house, if I\'m ever in the area again i will certainly book up again in this delightful B& B as it\'s very good value for a very reasonable price.

Reviewer:Mr. Alisdair MacPherson | Sun 21st Aug 2016


Relaxation- Rating 5/5

Great place to unwind very friendly staff . The breakfast was excellent. And it has beautiful views of the river . It\'s nice to get the personal touch . And really feel welcome .

Reviewer:Paul Stokinger | Sun 21st Aug 2016


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay here this weekend for a wedding. As they knew it was my birthday I even got a bottle of bubbly. Very friendly, breakfast was lush. We stayed in Whiteadder room & the bed was very comfy, with views across the river and a view of the castle. Would definitely stay again!

Reviewer:Megan Smith | Mon 15th Aug 2016


Great House - Rating 4/5

Everything was okThe house is really great and the view beautiful. Only the chickens beside the House are loud

Reviewer:Jana Rauer | Sun 14th Aug 2016


3 day break - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting relations & family party, the staff made us feel most welcome and the breakfasts were excellent with a good selection, although we thought a menu to show the choices would be a good idea.Our room at the top of the house was clean & comfortable with a good view of the Tweed, will visit again.

Reviewer:Andrew Morris | Fri 12th Aug 2016


Fantastic!!! - Rating 5/5

The house is absolutly beautiful. The details outside and in. Very welcoming. Quiet and the views are breath taking.Rooms are inkeeping with the rest of the house. Well equiped with a luxurious bathroom.Little touches and gestures make it all the mote perfect. Communial breakfast table where i was able to enjoy a hearty breakfast for the day while chatting to the other guests.Ample parking. Easy to find. Over all one of the best places ive stayed. Would recommend!!

Reviewer:Callum Podmore | Wed 10th Aug 2016


Weekend break - Rating 4/5

DUNCAN HOUSE is conveniently situated just off the town square and close to Floors Castle and Kelso Abbey. We were made to feel welcome and at home by the owner and were shown to our room and given full instructions to treat the place as home and where to find everything should weneed it. Good freshly cooked breakfast to order with a good choice. Would stay here again if we are in Scotland borders.

Reviewer:Valerie Hawkins | Tue 9th Aug 2016


Two comfortable nights - Rating 4/5

Excellent stay.Great location, friendly staff, and a super breakfast.Just the job!

Reviewer:Robert Clark | Mon 8th Aug 2016


Superb B&B - Rating 5/5

Beautiful, comfortable house and setting. Breakfast was superb and provided by welcoming, friendly service. Will definitely visit again!

Reviewer:Gillian MacWatt | Sun 7th Aug 2016


Lovely stay in Period House - Rating 4/5

Great accommodation in central location with parking. Easy walk to town. Wonderful views from Teviot room with 4 poster bed included.Attentive staff and great breakfast options.Owner mentioned refit due to bathroom which would be good although it all worked fine as is. Sash windows a little stiff/heavy and may be tricky for an elder/weaker guest to open.Would benefit from a cob-web clean around ceiling/lights although in general a clean and well maintained property.WOULD STAY AGAIN if in area

Reviewer:Mark Hyoms | Mon 1st Aug 2016


duncan house Kelso - Rating 5/5

Excellent had great facilities that made us feel right at home.Not being overpowered on arrival by owner was a bonus as you just want to get in to your room. In essence enjoyed the relaxed laid back manner very good.

Reviewer:Malcolm Stewart | Sun 31st Jul 2016


Georgian elegance- Rating 5/5

Duncan House is a gem set in a Borders jewel. Classy clean relaxed and fabulous service. Great breakfast. Traditional decor and a view of the Tweed. The girls were great and the other guests clearly came for a bit of sophistication too.

Reviewer:Simon Carter | Sun 31st Jul 2016


perfect B&B! - Rating 5/5

Comfortable, beautiful house and views. We hope to stay at Duncan House again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan Mackie | Sun 24th Jul 2016


Duncan House - Rating 5/5

Acharming period house in a very convenient location. Overlooking the River Tweed .great rooms and superb breakfasts. .

Reviewer:Mike Heaps | Wed 20th Jul 2016


Fishermans Rest - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay very much. Staff very efficient and friendly. Breakfasts were first class with so much choice and all freshly prepared. Nothing too much trouble from our host. Accommodation very comfortable but decor and furniture oldey woldey.

Reviewer:Roger Williams-Wynn | Mon 18th Jul 2016


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Very impressive house. Good sized rooms with bath and shower. Breakfast in superb dining room on huge table. Very good arrangements for arriving and entering house which were sent by email a couple of days in advance. Splendid view of river Tweed from Tweed bedroom. You had a view over the wide river up to Floors Castle. Good breakfast with Scottish items featuring. Real milk for tea provided in a fridge on first floor landing.Highly recommended.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope to see you again.Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Mr. ALLAN RAMSDEN | Sun 17th Jul 2016


My stay at Duncan House, with my dog . - Rating 4/5

Annie my lurcher and I had a very comfortable stay and found the tea/coffee etcvery nice. The breakfast wasmost enjoyable and we had service with a smile . The onlydisappointment was the car parking . If you have a heavy bag and you have to park in the street it is quite a long walk . Everything else was just fine .

Reviewer:Elizabeth Craik | Thu 30th Jun 2016


Wonderful, found a place to come back to again and again - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the Teviot room and it was gorgeous.As a rare night away from our young kids at a child free wedding it was perfect for getting ready, feeling grown up and spoilt. We got a great night\'s sleep and were treated to a very tasty full breakfast the next morning. We\'ll be coming back!

Reviewer:Jessica Cook | Tue 28th Jun 2016


Stay- Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay could not fault it and the best breakfast ever.

Reviewer:Mrs. KarenColeman| Tue 28th Jun 2016


Classy - Rating 5/5

A classy house, made to feel very welcome, superb breakfast and very comfortable bed.Great location.

Reviewer:Diana Baillie | Fri 17th Jun 2016


Pleasant Stay in Great Location - Rating 4/5

B& B in great location, 30 seconds from Kelso town square. Nice building with great view of river. Plenty of interesting things inside if you\'re interested in fishing too.Staff friendly. Large breakfast served in very nice dining room.Bedroom nice and bed comfortable. Note that no shaver socket was available in bedroom or shared bathroom.

Reviewer:Mr. Adam Grant | Fri 17th Jun 2016


Communication let down - Rating 2/5

Lovely property but was disappointed not to be greeted when we arrived. As we had pre booked my vegetarian breakfast I was looking forward to it only to find that the girls cooking knew nothing about our request. Consequently I was left with very little to eat & was extremely disappointed. We would have booked somewhere who was willing to cook a vegetarian breakfast had we known...

Response

This was a communication failure by the guest.The booking stated \'1x vegetarian breakfast if possible, thanks, Paul\' No mention was made in the booking of not eating eggs or beans. The house was fully stocked with fresh fruit, cereals fish etc non of which was apparently acceptable to the guest who demanded vegetarian sausage. This is only the second time in 14 years that we have had such a request. On the first occasion this was requested in advance and provided.To add insult to injury the female guest was extremely rude to my staff and upset them in front of the other house guests.I strongly suggest that Paul is more specific when he makes a booking to avoid these problems elsewhere.Jeff Slater

Reviewer:Paul Baines | Tue 14th Jun 2016


Duncan House - Rating 4/5

Excellent food, friendly service, an enjoyable stay in a beautiful area. Only slight problem was with car parking.

Reviewer:Carol Richards | Tue 14th Jun 2016


disappointing - Rating 2/5

Very impersonal ckeckin;only a mail sent at the morning of the arrival and a telephone-number in the window, where we could reach someone who told us how to get the key out of the keysafe. Room very small with insufficient space for luggage, the same in the bathroom. Slightly blurry ceiling in the bathroom.

Reviewer:Mr. Gert Bellmann | Sun 12th Jun 2016


Lovely,tranquil atmosphere - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a wonderful stay in a beautiful location.The room was very clean and the breakfast superb.Even had an e-mail from Susie the labrador prior to our visit to welcome us,brilliant.To anyone wanting to stay in Kelso ,Duncan house is the place to go.Thank you all.

Reviewer:John Gilchrist | Wed 8th Jun 2016


Top class accommodation- Rating 5/5

I\'ve travelled the world for the last 11 years and I can honestly say that Duncan House is one of the best bed and breakfasts I\'ve experienced. The view from the Teviot Room was fantastic as were the facilities. The breakfasts were excellent with a wide variety of choice including items you would normally pay extra for in top hotels like eggs Benedict. Top class, very clean bed and breakfast and friendly staff.

Reviewer:Gary Marshall | Mon 6th Jun 2016


3 day stay - Rating 5/5

i had a lovely stay with great breakfast.Room was lovely

Reviewer:Melvyn Davidson | Mon 6th Jun 2016


Spectacular- Rating 5/5

Everything was amazing, and to to end our stay a spectacular breakfast if you stay here you will be spoilt nothing else will be good enough. Thank you Duncan house had a fabulous 45th birthday. ☆☆☆☆☆

Reviewer:Lorraine Townsend | Tue 31st May 2016


Perfect Break - Rating 5/5

Duncan House has the perfect mix of relaxed, comfortable and homely luxury. The house is full of antique furniture but without being \'stuffy\'. Really nice lounge to relax in and beautiful dining room. Our bedroom, with 4 poster, was fantastic. Very welcoming and would definitely recommend if escaping for a quiet break in the borders.

Reviewer:Jim Mackintosh | Sat 28th May 2016


WHY? - Rating 5/5

A chance find but an excellent discovery. A really good room overlooking the Tweed. Very helpful and cheerful staff. Liked the communal eating. Gets people talking and you are well fed.Suggest you clean the lamp above the front door!DID I LEAVE A WHITE/YELLOW MEMORY STICK IN THE TEVIOT ROOM?

Reviewer:Robin Nelson 1 | Tue 24th May 2016


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay very relaxing will be staying again

Reviewer:Paul Gallgher | Fri 20th May 2016


Another relaxing break - Rating 5/5

It is now ten years since we first visited Duncan House. On that visit we were at the start of a three-week tour of Scotland. We have not managed to visit every year since then but we have returned several times and have never been disappointed. The house is a splendid Georgian structure on the bank of the Tweed, the staff smile are all very friendly and attentive and the breakfasts are great. We will be back again.

Reviewer:David Ashton | Fri 20th May 2016


Friendly and comfortable. Great breakfast.- Rating 5/5

Warm friendly lovely decor. Generous provisions. Great shower. Excellent breakfast. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Alison Smith | Sat 14th May 2016


Lovely stay in the Teviot Room - Rating 5/5

Couldn\'tbe more pleased, comfy bed, luxurious bath, amazing views of the Tweed! Spotlessly clean, very welcoming hosts. Loved sitting round the 12 placed dining table with everyone and the breakfast\'s were great and good choice including smoked salmon and scrambled egg which I highly recommend! We will be back!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Jeanette Gray | Tue 3rd May 2016


\"Absolutely Fabulous\"! - Rating 5/5

Thank you Jeff, Kate, Rachel and, of course, Susie for making us so welcome in your lovely house.We enjoyed the \"house party\"atmosphere and particularly sitting round the very impressive dining table with our fellow guests and swapping stories with them, whilst eating the most delicious breakfast, having had difficult decisions as to what to choose from the extensive menu. We found our room (Yarrow) perfect and it was an added bonus to wake up to sunshine on our first morning although I suspect that even you, Jeff, can\'t control the weather! We are so glad we \"found\"Duncan House and look forward to our next stay....might have to make it in the winter to enjoy the open fires!Thank you again for a most enjoyable weekend.

Reviewer:Judith Evans | Mon 2nd May 2016


Will be back - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed my short stay. Great sleep. Geeat breakfast. Would recommend this B+B to a friend.

Reviewer:Patrick Lynch | Sun 1st May 2016


A perfect getaway. - Rating 5/5

Lovely townhouse, overlooking the Tweed and Floors castle. Cosy room with great en-suite facility. Delicious full scottish breakfast and welcoming staff. A hiddem gem.

Reviewer:Kyshiea Nowicki | Thu 28th Apr 2016


Enjoyable stay- Rating 5/5

Would highly recommend great views looking onto Floors Castle. Room very clean and great shower.

Reviewer:Gary Goodwin | Wed 27th Apr 2016


Duncan House - Rating 5/5

Excellent, very welcoming and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, wide choice and served early.

Reviewer:Jane Henderson | Mon 25th Apr 2016


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Stayed here as our midway point of The 4 Abbeys Cycle. We were made very welcome and the lovely welcoming fire on our arrival was what was needed for 4 cold tired cyclists. Our room (deluxe king size ) Teviot was beautiful with a magnificent view towards Floors castle over the river. Breakfast served in a stately dining room set us up for our second day\'s cycle . Will definately stay again.

Reviewer:Victoria Richardson | Mon 18th Apr 2016


Duncan House, Kelso - Rating 4/5

I stayed one night at Duncan House and found it very homely and comfortable. Kate and Jeff were great hosts and hospitality second to none. Breakfast was superb and set me up for my journey home.

Reviewer:Mr. Harvey Birse | Mon 11th Apr 2016


Best B and B - Rating 5/5

Great place as a fishing base as good as it gets.Thanks

Reviewer:Mr. PETER ROBINSON | Sun 3rd Apr 2016


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Nice place to stay, friendly staff, lovely breakfast, good facilities, very dog friendly

Reviewer:GILLIAN BELL | Thu 31st Mar 2016


Duncan House - Rating 5/5

Great location & stunning views. Made to feel very welcome and the breakfast deserves its legendary status.Would highly recommend and definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Nick Canning | Mon 21st Mar 2016


Friendly - Rating 5/5

Duncan House is very clean and comfortable.The breakfast is fantastic and everyone is extremely pleasant and friendly.It\'s very popular with fishermen but don\'t be put off by this, the staff treat everyone with the same friendliness, efficiency and respect.The rooms are exactly as described, no hidden nasty surprises.

Reviewer:Alister Davidson | Mon 21st Mar 2016


Duncan House - Rating 5/5

Lovely central venue overlooking the river. Great public rooms (warm if its cold outside!)Comfortable and quiet bedrooms. Attentive host, excellent breakfasts. Duncan House has an emphasis on fishing which is part of Tweedside culture but this venue would get 5 stars whatever your motivation for staying there

Reviewer:Jim Morrison | Sun 20th Mar 2016


Three day fishing break - Rating 5/5

Jeff and Kate could not be more welcoming. All staff cheerful and helpful. Delicious breakfast including porridge from local oats. Comfortable, spacious rooms with great river views. Very handy for Orvis with good range of flies and lures and early opening. Have already booked for next year. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Peter Vom Eichstorff | Sat 19th Mar 2016


Ideal accomodation for our Tweed Fishing trip - Rating 5/5

Jeff and Kate made us very welcome .What a beautiful position with views over the Tweed. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast choice was varied, generousand delicious, setting us up for the day. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris Staniforth | Sat 19th Mar 2016


Excellent place to stay in Kelso - Rating 5/5

Comfortable, warm and friendly place to stay.Best breakfast in the Borders

Reviewer:Dave Pool | Thu 17th Mar 2016


Loved it. - Rating 5/5

I stay at Duncan house a couple of times a year for work and it is always a pleasure.lovely accommodation and breakfast is always amazing.

Reviewer:Jim Slater | Thu 17th Mar 2016


Lovely weekend - Rating 5/5

Beautiful house and location, friendly staff and so nice to sit around the breakfast table and chat with other guests and the owner. Will definitely return.

Response

Sorry that the racing was abandoned but hope that you found enough to do.Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Karl Fisher | Mon 7th Mar 2016


Lovely house - Rating 4/5

Delightful position, comfortable room and a 5 star breakfast

Response

Thank you for the compliment

Reviewer:Brian Williams | Sun 6th Mar 2016


A very pleasant place to stay - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed my very brief over-night stay at Duncan House.It\'s ideally located for the centre of Kelso.To be greeted with, \'with you like a g & t or a cup of tea\' can\'t be bettered in my opinion.Excellent breakfast, warm, clean and comfortable room with everything one could need provided.Recommended.

Response

So it\'s the cold weather hospitality that you enjoyed most!

Reviewer:Jack Davies | Mon 18th Jan 2016


A real find- Rating 5/5

An elegant, really comfortable and well equipped house.Delicious breakfast.Will definitely recommend it to friends and hope to return myself (in better weather)

Response

We look forward to seeing you again.Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Kettle | Mon 11th Jan 2016


Wee gem of a place- Rating 5/5

Lovely accommodation, very easy to find. Clean and comfortable with lovely staff. The breakfast is awesome! Would highly recommend this Wee gem of a place.

Reviewer:Tracey Reid | Tue 8th Dec 2015


A Guest House with Taste and A Great Welcome - Rating 5/5

Duncan House is advertised as a B& B but it is more like a private hotel. Beautifully furnished and wonderful hospitality. I believe the Michelin guide would say \"worth a detour\". I don\'t want to say more in case I can\'t get a room there next time I\'m in Kelso. But highly recommended.

Reviewer:Michael Hunter | Mon 7th Dec 2015


Wonderfully Relaxing - Rating 5/5

A wonderful place to stay, a super room with a very comfortable bed and lovely crisp linen. Superb bath and very nice overall furniture in a much larger than average room.Very classy drawing room and dining/breakfast room. A nice touch was fresh milk in a fridge for \'proper\' morning drinks The owners were very helpful, particularly sending a text to advise on accese details.I had not really registered the price on booking and was very pleasantly surprised by how reasonable it was. I will definitely use Duncan House again and have already recommended it to friends.

Reviewer:Simon Hyde | Sat 5th Dec 2015


One to return to - Rating 5/5

The weather was shocking so to arrive and find a real fire crackling away in a comfortable lounge was very welcome.The room was comfortable, the staff delightful, and the breakfast superb. What\'s not to like!

Reviewer:Roger Froud | Thu 3rd Dec 2015


Best B & B ever - Rating 5/5

excellent situation, open fire, fabulous breakfast, friendly welcoming folk, very good for dog walking, lots to do.

Reviewer:Leslie Hirst | Tue 1st Dec 2015


Too short - Rating 5/5

A great place to spend the night comfy big bed and one of the best breakfasts ever with lovely staff We will return

Reviewer:David Hutton | Sun 29th Nov 2015


Very recommended - Rating 4/5

Good food, nice room and superb views. Very welcoming once you get past the keysafe which didnt seem to accept the code!

Reviewer:Ross Byiers | Sat 21st Nov 2015


The best way to stay in Kelso - Rating 5/5

Stayed for week and enjoyed every minute the rooms are very comfortable an clean all have on suite very good . The breakfasts are one in a million every thing You can possibly need .The people round it all off to make it a very enjoyable stay THANK YOU EVRYONE.

Reviewer:Mr. Dale Steggles | Thu 19th Nov 2015


Looking forward to returning - Rating 5/5

An excellent B& B with friendly service and good facilities at a reasonable price

Reviewer:James Verney | Mon 16th Nov 2015


weekend break - Rating 4/5

enjoyed our weekend a lovely place to stay very friendly owners and staff and convenient for the town

Reviewer:Brenda Lord | Wed 11th Nov 2015


Bravo to Duncan house- Rating 5/5

Was made at ease right from arriving , and the hosts could not do enough for you . Given lots of information regarding things to do and see . The establishment was very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were fabulous . I would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone . Very good ! 👍

Reviewer:Patrick MARLEY | Sun 8th Nov 2015


Lovely BandB - Rating 4/5

The bedroom was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was tasty with lots of choice. Kelso is a pretty town with great walks nearby. No hesitation in recommending this bed and breakfast.

Reviewer:Elisabeth Quincey | Sun 1st Nov 2015


Fabulous- Rating 5/5

Our group took all five rooms at this beautiful Georgian property for a two night stay & we all thought it was a marvellous place to stay. Very central to all of the amenities & close enough to walk to the racecourse. Tastefully decorated throughout, pristine bathrooms, a wonderful dining room & a sumptuous breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble to Jeff & his staff. We shall return

Response

Already booked you in for the race meeting next year.Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Tom Sage | Tue 6th Oct 2015


Great Stay! - Rating 5/5

Thankyou very much Kate and Geoff for my stay. Cyclotouring, following the Tour of Britain. Perfect! Hot shower, clean room with good facilities,awesome breakfast with a very warm welcome ☺.

Reviewer:Mr. Dieter Booth | Thu 10th Sep 2015


Great location - Rating 5/5

Easy to find. Homely, relaxed atmosphere.Wonderful choice of breakfast, with a lovely lady to serve us.Duncan House was a great choice for our visit to Kelso. Would recommendit to anyone.

Reviewer:Malcolm Purdie | Sat 5th Sep 2015


Bank holiday weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Ideal location. Rooms clean and owner and staff very friendly. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Brian Burgess | Mon 31st Aug 2015


Lovely, welcoming stay - Rating 5/5

Second time staying here. A lovely, comfortable room with splendid views and delicious breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the house is delightful. Thank you.

Reviewer:Ms. Penny Smith | Fri 28th Aug 2015


beautiful - Rating 4/5

Wonderful experience...

Response

Your children were great with Susie the labrador - thank you

Reviewer:Vincenzo Mizzoni | Tue 25th Aug 2015


Fabulous stay - Rating 5/5

My sister and I had the twin room and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Geoff the owner couldn\'t have done anymore for us, and his staff were wonderful. He went the extra mile. Bed was extremely comfortable, and the breakfast excellent. He was flexible, kind and made the stay a lot of fun. Small and intimate , got to know other guests over breakfast. Loved it xx

Reviewer:Ms. alex culver | Wed 19th Aug 2015


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

My husband and me stayed at the \"Duncan House\"for 3 nights and we enjoyed every minute. The room was well and beautiful furnished. we had a wonderful view to the river and the castle. The hosts were very friendly. And the breakfast.... delicious!

Response

We hope to see you again

Reviewer:Christiane Ackermann | Wed 19th Aug 2015


Appaulingresidence - Rating 1/5

What stay!!! We were unable to enter the residenxe and the numbers on the window belonged to an exemployee. After waiting .5 hours we had to book alternative accommodation.However this man still charged us full price as a no show please be careful of this business. The local hotel told us this is actually a common occurrance. Bookings.com will not assist as he sent us an email. IT WAS BLANK.

Response

Nice Spelling!1.You did not wait 5 hours, it was 20 minute from your call box call when my line was engaged to us speaking and my offering to let you in.2. I overheard you negotiating a cheaper last minute rate with the Cross Keys Hotel.3. You failed to contact booking.com to attempt to cancel your booking. This meant the the two rooms were allocated to you and I could not sell them. You were therefore charged. Booking,com are extremely strict about these issues, if you had any case at all I would have been required to refund you.4. I was contacted by booking.com. They confirmed that the email had been transmitted to you via their system. They could read it in their email history so any issues about an alleged blank email are between you and them. This system has worked infallibly to date.5. It is not a common occurrence to have entry problems with Duncan House as you allege..6. You were an Australian party travelling around the UK without any means of being contacted other than email.7. Finally, you were extremely rude on the telephone and I am rather pleased that you chose to stay elsewhere.

Reviewer:Colleen Hales | Mon 17th Aug 2015


a true gem - Rating 5/5

All one could wish for:a beautiful old house with full use of a delightful living room complete with a great selection of reads, lovely people, amazing breakfast. A highlight of our trip.

Reviewer:Malte Helmert | Sat 15th Aug 2015


Lovely location - Rating 4/5

Would highly recommend this guesthouse. Beautiful views over the river, and comfortable rooms decorated in excellent taste. We were made very welcome, and the breakfasts were extremely good. Large shared dining table slightly quirky, but made for very interesting breakfast conversation. Would definitely go back.

Reviewer:Anne Morgan | Thu 13th Aug 2015


Excellent!!! - Rating 5/5

Wonderful house, very good breakfast, nice people.

Response

Good to see you back at the house for a holiday rather than just an overnight stay.We hope that you enjoy the paintings.Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Frde Werner | Sat 8th Aug 2015


Second time staying - fabulous again - Rating 5/5

Really love Duncan House.Alot of charm, very relaxing, great hosts and stunning views across the Tweed.

Response

Good to see you back and very pleased that you caught your first two salmon. You looked like a dog with two d**ks the next morning.

Reviewer:Nigel Verdon | Sun 2nd Aug 2015


review of stay at duncan house - Rating 4/5

wonderful location. staff very friendly and a suberb breakfast

Response

Everyone reviewing us seems food oriented

Reviewer:Ian Bateson | Sat 1st Aug 2015


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Duncan house for me was amazing so clean and comfortable excellent staff. The breakfast was piping hot as it should be with as much tea or coffee as I needed. I will not hesitate to use Duncan house in the future.

Response

We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewer:Norman Sleep | Mon 29th Jun 2015


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Good room, fantastic breakfast made with very fresh local produce.

Response

Did you try the eggs royale?

Reviewer:Phillip Marchingo | Wed 24th Jun 2015


stay - Rating 5/5

Only one comfortable night with two dogs, lovely walk beside the river friendly and relax greeting and a lovely breakfast would stay again.

Response

Happy dogs!

Reviewer:Julie Harrison | Tue 23rd Jun 2015


very comfortable beds - Rating 5/5

Excellent B& B, I like everybody breakfasting at one large table, the breakfast was as good as I have had anywhere.The house is old and has some very nice antique furniture.

Response

Most encouraging for us. The team try very hard and deserve praise.Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Bruce Neilson | Thu 18th Jun 2015


Location, location, location - Rating 5/5

What a gem. Perfect location for many wonderful sites. Close to shops and restaurants without the traffic noise, comfortable, clean rooms. Friendly hosts. Ample tasty breakfast. Will definitely stay again.

Response

Thank you. Hopefully we can make it better for you next time.

Reviewer:Elva Glencross | Thu 18th Jun 2015


One night stay.- Rating 4/5

Great B& B that is quiet with friendly atmosphere. Teviot room was lovely with gorgeous views of the Tweed. Very central for Kelso town. Breakfast was fantastic too. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Reviewer:Anna Dingle | Mon 15th Jun 2015


Comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

Despite not being able to access (due to the owner being unavailable),the key lock at the front door as i was not given the code i manage to contact the owner who supplied this promptly. The room was clean and cofortable with agood quality breakfast in the morning. Woken up by the cockerel next door but hey this is the borders. I would have no problem rebooking this fine old property in lovely picturesque Kelso.

Response

Please accept my apologies. I had dropped and broken my mobile phone and did not have a fallback in place to cover this eventuallity. I eventually recovered your messages after you had departed. Should you return please contact me in advance and remind me of this, I will of course make appropriate recompense for you inconvenience.Jeff Slater

Reviewer:Douglas Walker | Fri 12th Jun 2015


Lovely place except for the noisy bed - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay at Duncan house. The windows rattled a lot (although it was blowing a gale outside!) and a very noisy bed. However breakfast was lovely, staff were great. Room was lovely great view of river and castle, and bathroom was really nice. All things considered an enjoyable stay at Duncan house.

Reviewer:Richard McCord | Wed 3rd Jun 2015


anniversary weekend - Rating 5/5

Top marks for this lovely house . staff were amazing, We were given key to come and go as we pleased, which was ideál. Room was lovely with Beautiful river views . Would not stay anywhere else if l visited Kelso again.

Reviewer:Marie MacDonald | Mon 1st Jun 2015


Duncan House - A charming and welcoming retreat - Rating 5/5

My wife and I, along with our young son and dog, spent two nights at Duncan House in May.Our arrival, in the absence of the owner, Jeff, was co-ordinated perfectly with a key available and our room in perfect order.The accommodation has the feel of staying in a friend\'s house, a very hospitable friend at that.The room, \"Tweed\"afforded a marvellous view across the river to Floors Castle and had access to a beautiful riverside walk a matter of yards from the house.On the ground floor is a very comfortable and well furnished lounge, where I would have been happy to sit and read all day were it not for the requirements of my family to venture further. Opposite is the breakfast room, well appointed around a large antique dining table allowing the guests to chat and share stories of their visit. Most convivial indeed.The house benefits from it\'s own car park and for all it is a very short walk to the market place in Kelso, it\'s location allows a quiet and peaceful isolation from any disturbance.Overall we were very pleased and would certainly stay again without hesitation and as such I can offer my wholehearted recommendation of Duncan House to anyone looking for a base from which to explore this delightful area of Scotland and Northumbria.

Reviewer:Kevin Ervin | Sun 31st May 2015


Flair der Vergangenheit - Rating 4/5

Wir schliefen in historischen Betten, frühstückten an einer historischen Tafel, liefen durch historische Räume/Flure und duschten im modernen Ambiente. Jeff war ein angenehmer Gastgeber

Reviewer:Heinz Aumann | Thu 21st May 2015


weekend break - Rating 5/5

Along with a friend we stayed at Duncan House and found accomodation and food excellent Friendly atmosphere and near town square

Reviewer:Cathy Salkeld | Tue 12th May 2015


Great retreat - Rating 5/5

Four friends enjoyed a lovely couple of days at Duncan House. The house is beautiful with a downstairs lounge to relax in at any time. Walking distance from the town, good restaurants, and the river. We had a short drive to Floor scantly and Abbotsford, home of Sir Walter Scott.The breakfast was to die for, great choices and cooked to perfection. We hope to return.

Response

Thank you for staying - pleased that you enjoyed the porridge from Hogarths Mill in Kelso

Reviewer:John Wood | Tue 5th May 2015


Relaxing Stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a lovely relaxing stay with fabulous views overlooking the river. To be recommended.

Reviewer:Neil Miller | Sun 3rd May 2015


The fisherman - Rating 5/5

A lovely guest house with a definite slant towards those who have a passion for fishing. Has beautiful view of the tweed and Floors Castle. Quiet and peaceful with big comfy chairs and nice comfy beds.Breakfast is fantastic and the standards are high. Will book up for a weekend break myself now i\'ve been there.

Response

We like the old armchairs better than modern sofas in the house

Reviewer:Mrs. Juliet Grant | Thu 30th Apr 2015


Duncan House Kelso - Rating 4/5

Fabulous room. Lovely view and a very welcome atmosphere. I would definitely recommend it and the dogs loved it.

Reviewer:Sarah McPherson | Mon 27th Apr 2015


Ideal - Rating 5/5

A great find in Kelso. Stayed just the one night, but great position, enchanting view and lovely breakfast.

Response

Please stay a little longer next time - great for dogs. We now have 8 labradors since Susie produced 7 pups on 28/4

Reviewer:LIsa Wenmouth | Tue 14th Apr 2015


Happy Break - Rating 5/5

Friendliness of owners and staff,comftable accommodation and a lovely breakfast. Easy reach of town and floors castle. Very accommodating for request to book in at an earlier check in time Thank you

Response

Thank you - come back anytime.

Reviewer:Heather Mallin | Tue 7th Apr 2015


Comfortable, friendly & great location. - Rating 4/5

A beautiful old house overlooking the River Tweed and local countryside and a 5 minute walk to the centre of Kelso. The bedroom room was warm and comfortable with complimentary tea, coffee and water. Fresh milk available from the fridge in the hall along with more water if you want it. Sweets are plentiful and scattered around the house. The bathroom was clean & modern with a large bath and shower. Sat around a large sociable breakfast table we were given a choice of food from full breakfast to kippers, when it arrived was tasty and plentiful, served with toast and choice of tea or fresh coffee. We enjoyed our relaxing stay and would happily return.

Response

We do try to make Duncan House home from home, pleased you enjoyed it. Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Guy Lester | Wed 1st Apr 2015


weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Spent a great weekend at Duncan House. The breakfast was excellent and the staff and owner really friendly. I will certainly go back again and would recommend it Gordon Cooper

Response

Thank you. We rely on reviews and referrals. It is important to us that you enjoy your experience in Duncan House.

Reviewer:Gordon Cooper | Tue 31st Mar 2015


short break - Rating 5/5

Once again thoroughly enjoyed staying at Duncan House, the best breakfast ever, thanks to Jeff, Eleanor and of course Susie, lovely to meet Kate, will definitely be staying again

Response

In that case we look forward to having you back again.Jeff & Kate

Reviewer:Lynda Obrien | Wed 18th Mar 2015


An excellent few days in Kelso - Rating 5/5

A very friendly and comfortable atmosphere. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. A very relaxed and enjoyable couple of days.

Response

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the experience.

Reviewer:Edward Blaszczyszyn | Wed 11th Mar 2015


beautiful house - Rating 5/5

We were excepting somewhere special after researching the great Duncan House reviews before booking. These expectations were met and exceeded. A huge bedroom beautifully decorated and furnished, (warm as toast after a cold afternoon on the racecourse). A fantastic view from the bedroom windows of the River Tweed and surrounding countryside.Our friendly host Geoff provided us with a lovely Scottish breakfast in the georgian dining room. Will definitely be coming back.

Response

Great that you enjoyed yourselves despite the inclement weather.If you return for the races we can arrange Members Badges at discount rates.Thank you for being our first Qbook reviewer.Jeff

Reviewer:Sidgreaves | Mon 2nd Mar 2015


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Disabled
  • Self Catering
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Gay Friendly
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks